Home NEWS The candidates running in Turkish London

The candidates running in Turkish London

Running for election (clockwise from top-left): David Lammy, Kate Osamor, David Burrowes, Dawn Barnes, Catherine West, Diane Abbott

Most MPs representing Turkish-speaking regions in London have announced they will stand again in Britain’s snap general election.

In addition to Joan Ryan in Enfield North (see next article), other North London Labour MPs are running again.

They included David Lammy (Tottenham), Kate Osamor (Edmonton), Catherine West (Hornsey & Wood Green) and Diane Abbott (Hackney North & Stoke Newington).

David Burrowes, the Conservative MP in Enfield Southgate, also confirmed to Haber that he will be running for election.

The surprise nature of the election means that most other parties without sitting MPs have not confirmed their candidates yet.

One former MP who will not be running to regain her seat is Lynne Featherstone, who lost the Hornsey & Wood Green seat to Catherine West in 2015.

Baroness Featherstone has since joined the House of Lords and is ineligible to run. The Liberal Democrat candidate for the constituency was previously announced as local resident Dawn Barnes.