Home ENGLİSH Caliskan overcomes challenge to win re-election as Leader

Caliskan overcomes challenge to win re-election as Leader


The Leader of Enfield Council Nesil Caliskan has won re-election and strengthened her position within the council’s administration with the formation of a new cabinet following the departure of several long-serving cabinet members.

Nesil Caliskan gained significant support from Labour councillors at the annual general meeting last week. At the meeting, Ian Barnes became the new deputy leader after Daniel Anderson, Ahmet Oykener, Dino Lemonides, Achilleas Georgiou and Yasemin Brett all stood down as cabinet members. New cabinet members include Gina Needs who is now in charge of Social Housing with Mahtab Uddin leading on Public Health, Rick Jewell on Children’s Services, George Savva on Licensing and Regulatory Services and Nneka Keazor on Community Safety and Cohesion. Alev Cazimoglu, continues to hold the Health and Social Care portfolio, Mary Maguire retains the Finance and Procurement brief and Guney Dogan remains the Cabinet Member for Environment and Sustainability, which includes responsibility for Enfield’s cycling programme. At the AGM two previous associate cabinet members have also been replaced by Mustafa Cetinkaya and Claire Stewart.